JACK’S JOINT: A HIDDEN GEM IN INNER-CITY MANILA

First of all, I just wanna say OH MY GOSH! It’s been more than a month since my last post and finally, I’m able to update this food blog again. Big changes at work have kept me from freeing weekends up for this (I need to rest too, you know).  But right now, I’m just so glad to be back!  Today’s edition is very special to me because I’ve long planned it, but again, due to reasons mentioned above, it did not materialize. And I got to bring my mom, my aunt, and my sis with me; and that really made it even more special.

So my sister needed to buy some stuff for dentistry school, and my mom asked me if I would want to come with them to Mendiola. The first thing that came to my mind: I HAVE TO GO! I’ve always wanted to explore Recto Avenue even if it’s not really the kind of place that fits that category. Good thing the dentistry supply store was still closed, because we decided to have lunch first. And yup, we had that long-awaited lunch at the restaurant I am featuring today: JACK’S JOINT.

Jack’s Joint is located along Jose Abad Santos Avenue, which for me meets Eats Too Far’s “must-visit” criteria LOL. It’s far from foodie hubs Recto/U-Belt and Binondo, yet I’ve read a lot of good reviews about the place. Well, as the tagline says: ‘Cause good food knows no distance! Getting there was a bit of a hassle because of Recto’s chaotic streets, plus it was hot. Jose Abad Santos is unknown territory to all of us, especially to my special guests; but I’m glad the only mishap we had was when my sis almost stepped on poo. From which or whom, we don’t know and we don’t want to know!

Jack’s Joint serves Mediterranean and Western food, and that’s the main reason I planned on visiting this restaurant. I am so a fan of this cuisine, so I can tell if they nailed it or not. My mom, my sister, and my aunt are very hard-to-please diners as well, so I kinda want to see how this food trip will go.


Restaurant Review

Jack’s Joint

Jack’s Joint has a very hip ambiance, which is somewhat unexpected considering its location. Maybe if I did not tell that this is in Jose Abad Santos Avenue, most of you would think this is in Maginhawa or BGC. The interiors are nice, though I guess a little rearranging and organizing might make it even better

2015-11-08 12.21.38

A very catchy and inviting facade leads to…

2015-11-08 12.25.46

Jack’s Joint’s hip and sleek interior

We each decided to order one different food item so that all of us can get a taste of each. I ordered the Shawarma Rice; my sister ordered the Chicken Steak; my aunt ordered the Chicken Pirzola (grilled and spiced chicken leg); and mom ordered the Chicken Mix and the Special Kebab, which consists of beef and chicken kebabs.  For drinks, mom and auntie had softdrinks while my sis and I had the yoghurt and the strawberry shake.

It did take some time for our orders to come, which I completely understood because all of the food items were grilled. Sadly, we had consumed our drinks before the main dishes came, but it’s not really much of a big deal. The food them came and I have to say, the presentation is quite simple, maybe a bit too simple: a cup of rice, a green chilli, a tomato, and of course, the food item itself.

Although we did have a long waiting time, we did not feel bored. The restaurant had a TV and you know, the ambiance was conducive for chatting with your food buddies. The server was very prompt, and she never failed to smile whenever she refilled our water.

2015-11-08 12.42.15

Special Kebab, which consists of beef and chicken kebabs

2015-11-08 12.42.37

Chicken Mix (grilled chicken skewers with tomatoes)

2015-11-08 12.43.16

Chicken Steak

2015-11-08 12.44.52

Shawarma Rice

Of the food items, the one I loved the most is the beef kebab. It tasted the most Mediterranean to me. It was really savory, but not salty. There is a difference between the two if you must know. The poultry dishes were grilled well, though I have to say they pretty much tasted the same. The Pirzola though had a bit of a savory punch to it. The shawarma slices sadly, were a bit underwhelming.

We also had three sauces: garlic mayo, ketchup, and chilli. The ketchup gave life to the poultry dishes.  It was pretty much a good condiment to pair them to. The garlic mayo lacked that garlicky flavour. It seemed a bit subdued, but I still enjoyed it. My mom said that the chilli sauce really blew her nose off, so I guess that must be a compliment LOL.

When I got the bill, I almost fell off my seat: PHP 885. But after looking at the amount of food we ate, well, I guess it’s worth it. We didn’t feel that stuffed to be honest, but it was a pleasant eating experience for everyone. When three tough food critics say it’s decent, they mean it LOL.

Overall Rating

  • Price: 3.3
  • Ambiance: 4.2
  • Presentation of Food: 3
  • Flavor of Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.8
  • OVERALL RATING: 3.6

So after eating, we walked all the way back to Recto Avenue and rode a jeep back to Legarda. Well, my sis got everything that she needed, and we also got to visit San Sebastian Church. It’s a Sunday, so we decided to spend some time there to pray.

It’s been a fun experience, bringing your family to one of your food trips. My mom is a true blue Makateña, and she’d always balk at the idea of going far for good eats (the mere mention of Maginhawa makes her go, “oh no, you’re not bringing me there!). Seeing her, my aunt, and my sis being satisfied with today’s lunch was the biggest highlight of this food trip.

As for Jack’s Joint, it’s a restaurant that has so much potential to make it big in any of the major foodie hubs. It’s a newly opened restaurant, so they still have so more lessons to learn and experiences to go through. But so far, so good. They’re opening a branch at Panay Avenue this December (I confirmed this from the server), and I guess, with what we’ve had today, they’ll be a hit to the Quezon City foodie crowd. So my Quezon City foodies, mark your calendars and welcome Jack’s Joint to your hood!

2015-11-08 12.26.06

How to get there

Jack’s Joint is situated in Jose Abad Santos Avenue cor. Padre Algue Street, Manila. It is most accessible from Recto Station. To get there, ride any jeep going to Divisoria from Recto Station and then alight at Jose Abad Santos Avenue. You can walk to Padre Algue Street (the restaurant is beside Ersao), or you can take any jeep to Monumento/MCU, North Harbour, or Dagat-Dagatan that passes by Jose Abad Santos Avenue

I’d like to dedicate this post to my mother, my father, my aunt, and my sister. Thank you guys for your love and support! Hope you all had a great weekend everyone!

Leave a comment